Home  >  Council Business  >  Government
  • Government

  • Included on this page

  • About local government

    Visit the  Office of Local Government website  for more information about the local government system in Australia generally. The Office of Local Government is a division of the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet and is responsible for overseeing local government across NSW. 

    North, South and East Wards

    Under the  Local Government Act 1993 (NSW),  a local government area can be divided up into areas called wards. Each ward contains roughly equal numbers of voters and are represented by the same number of Councillors.

    Penrith City is divided into 3 wards - North, South and East, each represented by 5 Councillors. Residents can check their ward and enrolment details at roll.elections.nsw.gov.au/NSWLookUp/

    See information on Mayor, Councillors and elections.

    South Ward Suburbs

    The South Ward includes the suburbs of Badgerys Creek, parts of Emu Plains, Glenmore Park, Jamisontown, parts of Kingswood, Leonay, Luddenham, Mulgoa, Orchard Hills, parts of Penrith, Regentville, South Penrith, St Marys and Wallacia.

    East Ward Suburbs

    The East Ward includes the suburbs of Caddens, Claremont Meadows, Colyton, Erskine Park, Kemps Creek, parts of Kingswood, Mount Vernon, North St Marys, Orchard Hills, Oxley Park, St Clair and St Marys.

    North Ward Suburbs

    The North Ward includes the suburbs of Agnes Banks, Berkshire Park, Cambridge Gardens, Cambridge Park, Castlereagh, Cranebrook, Emu Heights, parts of Emu Plains, Jordan Springs, parts of Kingswood, Llandilo, Londonderry, parts of Penrith, Werrington, Werrington County and Werrington Downs.

    Ward map

    Download a copy of the Ward Map (pdf 196KB)

    Ward Map

    State electorates and representatives

    Areas of Penrith City fall within the state electorates of  Londonderry, Mulgoa and Penrith   

    Read more about the state members of parliament for our area:

    Member for Londonderry    Prue Car MP

    Member for Mulgoa    Tanya Davies MP

    Member for Penrith    Stuart Ayres MP


    Areas of Penrith City fall within the Federal Government electorates of Lindsay, Macquarie and McMahon. See which electorate you are in at the Australian Electoral Commission website  

    Read more about the federal members of parliament for our area:

    Member for Lindsay Emma Husar MP

    Member for McMahon Chris Bowen MP  

Have your say

Community input is important

We encourage you to have your say about community plans, policies and issues that will shape our City's future...

Nepean River Flood Study

Sport, Recreation, Play and Open Space Strategy

Community input is important

Would you like to receive your rates notice via email?

It's quick and easy! Click on the button below for more information.

Receive your rates notice via email

Find us on
Penrith City Council (02) 4732 7777 (02) 4732 7958 council@penrith.city 601 High St Penrith NSW 2750 Australia