Local Celebration Awards 2022 recipients revealed 

Local Celebrations Award Citizen of the Year 2022 Steven Green

Tuesday, 2 August 2022

The recipients of Penrith City Council’s annual Local Celebration Awards – which shine a light on dedicated, selfless and inspirational people in Penrith – were announced at Council’s Ordinary Meeting last week.

Council is delighted to recognise and congratulate the worthy winners:  
• Citizen of the Year: Steven Green  
• Mayor’s Local Heroes: Lisa Harrold and Ditte Kozak  
• Making a Difference - Community Service Award: David Andersen, Kenani Banda, Michelle Barnes, Alan Fowkes, Milton Lazarus, Maria Quartiero, Vivienne Ross, Irene Rossetto, and Jim Ward  

The awards program celebrates people who go above and beyond, who volunteer their time to make Penrith a great place to live, or who work tirelessly for the benefit of others and for the community.   

Penrith Mayor Tricia Hitchen said after another challenging year, it’s more important than ever to celebrate Penrith’s resilient spirit and recognise the people who continue to give the best of themselves, even during the worst of times.   

“Over the past few years our community has experienced unprecedented challenges yet throughout it all, there are exceptional people still doing exceptional things in Penrith,” Cr Hitchen said.   

“These awards are an opportunity for us to highlight the people who make a positive contribution to the benefit of our community, and give them the recognition they deserve,” she said. 

“I wholeheartedly congratulate Steven, Lisa, Ditte, David, Kenani, Michelle, Alan, Milton, Maria, Vivienne, Irene and Jim. They are all incredible people who make us truly proud to be part of the City of Penrith.”

Find out more about the award program and our worthy winners at: penrith.city/local-celebration-awards

Information contained within this news release was correct as at Tuesday, 2 August 2022.