Local Celebration Awards Nominations now open!

Local Celebration Awards Nominations now open!

Friday, 17 March 2023

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Local Celebration Awards - the award program that recognises people of all ages who go above and beyond, who dedicate their time to make Penrith a great place to live, or who work tirelessly for the benefit of others.

Penrith Mayor Tricia Hitchen encourages nominations so that we can continue to recognise the valuable contribution of these local heroes in our community.

‘I have been both delighted and humbled by the selfless work of the past Local Celebration Awards winners – incredible people like 2022 Citizen of the Year Steven Green, and Mayor’s Local Heroes Lisa Harrold and Ditte Kozak, whose dedication to local charities, groups and causes has made such a positive difference for our community,’ Cr Hitchen said.

‘I know there are many people in Penrith quietly achieving great things, and I am looking forward to hearing more about their work and meeting them once this year’s Local Celebration Awards are announced later this year – so get your nominations in now!’

Nominations for the 2023 Local Celebration Awards are open until 30 April 2023 and submissions will be accepted in person, online, by mail and by video. There are four award categories to choose from:

  • Citizen of the Year (over 18yrs old)
  • Young Citizen of the Year (aged 24 years and under
  • Mayor’s Local Heroes Award (all ages)
  • Making a Difference – Community Service Award (all ages).

The award recipients will be announced at Council’s Ordinary Meeting in July 2023.

Following the announcement in July, the Local Celebration Award winners will be formally recognised at a Civic Reception event held in August 2023.

Find out more about the award program, selection criteria and how to nominate at: penrith.city/local-celebration-awards

Steve GreenLocal HeroesCommunity Service Award winners

Pictured: 2022 Local Celebration Awards recipients - Citizen of the Year: Steven Green, Mayor’s Local Heroes: Lisa Harrold and Ditte Kozak, Community Service Award: David Andersen, Kenani Banda, Michelle Barnes, Alan Fowkes, Milton Lazarus, Maria Quartiero, Vivienne Ross, Irene Rossetto, and Jim Ward.

Information contained within this news release was correct as at Friday, 17 March 2023.